low graphics

activity timer

9 - The Antarctic treaty

cool fact!

In the first half of the 20th century, the UK, New Zealand, France, Norway, Australia, Chile and Argentina all made territorial claims to parts of Antarctica, sometimes for the same pieces of land.

cool clip


all agreed?

go with the floe

The Antarctic treaty system


Making claims


working together

resources help

  Back to the previous page

Home | Imagining Antarctica | What, where, why? | A changing climate | Beneath the waves | Journey south | Living there today | Destination Antarctica | Under pressure | The Antarctic Treaty | What future? | Pole to Pole | Collect data | Understanding Antarctica | Glaciers